Awake My Soul

“How fickle my heart and how woozy my eyes
I struggle to find any truth in your lies
And now my heart stumbles on things I don’t know
My weakness I feel I must finally show” -Mumford & Sons

This song may be talking about something entirely different but I feel like I can relate to the first verse: that my heart is fickle and my eyes do not see things clearly (as God sees them). I am looking for truth in the world, but I need to be looking to Jesus for the ultimate truth. And life is a confusing journey where I get sidetracked from God because of the lies of the world – since my heart and my eyes are not dependable. And my weakness prevails because I was never meant to live this life alone. I need Christ. I need Jesus to guide me in the way of truth and freedom. How appropriate to name the song “Awake My Soul.”


IMG_1942     

About Kristen

I like peonies, photography, and the mountains.
This entry was posted in Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

