Did we compromise love for making time?

For if you live according to the flesh, you will die; but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body, you will live. –Romans 8:13

I have been reflecting lately about how the world wants to make us believe that we don’t have enough time. For example, in terms of what we eat, companies have pre-made versions of everything and fast food restaurants are on every corner for convenience.  Last week, I found a package of cookies on clearance at the grocery story and I was looking forward to “making them” for Andrew. When I got home, I discovered that they were already precut and decorated with pictures. So all I had to do was break them off one another and put them on the cookie tray to bake. It was a huge disappointment because there was no effort. Baking cookies nowadays is not as meaningful as it used to be if you can do it in ten minutes. Technology is also a way where we are tricked into believing that the latest phone or tablet will save us time in one way or another. Emails versus snail mail. Text messages versus calling. But which would mean more to you? Drive-thru ATMs or getting to know your local bank tellers. Self-check outs at the grocery store. Or those ZAAZ machines at the mall that say something like “10 minutes= 1 hour at the gym” where it jiggles your body to work out. These things are not necessarily bad, but I feel that we are becoming less real only to save time. But what are we really saving it for if not to spend more time with our beloved family and friends? Because it doesn’t seem like we are able to see our families more with all of these “time-saving solutions”. We will continue to find other ways to save time while improperly expending it as if it were infinite.

I feel that the biggest problem with time is not really with time itself, but how we choose to spend it. As humans, we are prone to sin. So rather than choosing what is right or a good way of spending time, sometimes we would rather nap, eat, sit and be entertained. I feel that this is sin for some (such as myself) in times when we know we not choosing to spend our time the way the Lord wants us to. In times when we would rather please ourselves than please God.  I’ve been wrapped up in enough TV shows or pointless app store games that gain me nothing in the realm of relationships and eternity or in my spiritual walk with the Lord. The sad part is, I think that I am benefiting from spending time in the way I want but I am most likely missing out on God-given opportunities to serve and grow closer to the Lord.

Image

The other day, Andrew was telling me about the book The Last Lecture, a true story by Randy Pausch. Pausch was a college professor who was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer (terminal) and his book describes the last lecture topics that he gave in his last real public lecture. He focuses on teaching to the important lessons in life, that one may not typically learn in school. Pausch talks more of life rather than death. It has been a long time since I have read it but it made me think about my life. There are many things which I waste my time (and money) in. I am attempting to view the moments in my life as limited and that which can be filled with purpose and blessing. I desire to spend my down time praying for others instead of fiddling with my phone. it doesn’t take spinal surgery to place me into the position of caring for others.

Caleb Chapman wrote this song which resonates with this topic so well:

Too many songs to be sung,
Too many words to be spoken.
Too many tales to be told
So many hearts to be broken

Where did we go wrong?
Where did we fall off track?
Did we compromise love for making time?

Too many wars to be fought
So raise up your flag and surrender
Too many days to forget
So fall off your feet and remember

Where did we go wrong?
Where did we fall off track?
Did we compromise love for making time?

Where did we forget?
How could we forfeit all we have said and done to play God with our lives?

Slow down and see
Look and believe
What you have found, not what’s missing.

Where did we go wrong?
Where did we fall off track?
Did we compromise love for making time?

When did we forget?
How could we forfeit all we have said and done to play God with our lives?

Our time is limited and precious. Let’s not forget that we have the choice in how we spend our time. I am continually laying my sinful desires or “dying” to the self to seek life in Christ.

I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me. –Galations 2:20

About Kristen

I like peonies, photography, and the mountains.
This entry was posted in Lessons and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

