Praise the Lord

I was reading the book of Psalms tonight and I realized how quickly I skim over the words “Praise the Lord.” It is frightful to discover that my heart barely feels when I see this phrase.

It is disheartening to find myself desensitized to the stories in the Bible. Sure, Jonah was in the belly of a fish for three days. But do I sit and reflect on this amazing fact that this actually happened? Or do I just think that these sort of things only occur in Bible times and miss the beauty of God working miraculously then just as He does today? I seem to read from an outsider’s perspective minimizing the relationship that I have with the people in the Bible. These people were once real servants of the Lord who are not perfect, just like me.

I am missing the meaning in the Psalms that proclaim line after line that the Lord should be praised.

The Lord is righteous in all his ways and loving toward all he has made. The Lord is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth. He fulfills the desires of those who fear him; he hears their cry and saves them. The Lord watches over all who love him, but the wicked he will destroy. –Psalm 145:17-20

Image

 I recently learned the acronym ACTS as a guide to prayer in Bible study. Adoration, Confessions, Thanksgiving, and Supplication. First, we begin praying by praising the Lord for who He is. This is where I can tell God that I love Him for His being and not just for the gifts that He provides for me. Unfortunately, this was my most difficult part of this type of prayer. It’s like I don’t quite know what to say or how to verbally praise God. I am best at asking things of God.

I want to love God for God. I want to love Him as my Father and have a relationship with Him regardless of what He does or gives. He loves me regardless of how far away I stray or if I fail a million times. His love for me is not dependent on what I do. Can I ever wrap my mind and heart around such mercy and abounding unconditional love? And then go on to be an example of that?

God, please help me not to grow cold to your majesty. I pray that my desire for anything other than you will melt away. I know I can only be fully filled by You Lord. I want to fall more in love with You. 

Let my life be a way of worshiping and praising You Lord. Amen.

 

About Kristen

I like peonies, photography, and the mountains.
This entry was posted in Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

